Nathan Lovett-Murray
Belinda Duarte
Janine Coombs
Roland Atkinson
Trevor Pearce
Melissa Stevens
Steven Delaney
Stephanie Armstrong
Clayton Murray-Mitchell
Rueben Berg
Ngarra Murray
Paul Briggs OAM
Professor Ian Anderson
Daphne Yarram
Lidia Thorpe

Fellowship for Indigenous Leadership

Supporting achievement and vision for a stronger community


The Fellowship for Indigenous Leadership fosters leadership, providing exceptional people with the support they need to achieve their vision for their communities.

The Fellowship invests in recognised leaders and provides opportunities to emerging leaders within Victoria’s Indigenous communities. The value of the investment in building Indigenous leadership is to improve the economic as well as the social and emotional wellbeing of communities.

The Fellowship supports past, present and future Indigenous leaders who are committed to achieving positive change for Indigenous Victorians and strengthening links between all Australians.

The Fellowship for Indigenous Leadership is a sub-fund of the Australian Communities Foundation. You can support the Fellowship by making a donation through the ACF.

Right Way, Wrong Way, Which Way? Webinar – February 2017

Pro Bono Australia, co-branded with Philanthropy Australia, organised a webinar which was hosted by Genevieve Timmons from the Portland House Foundation, and panellists were Belinda Duarte (FIL/Culture is Life) and Peter Aldenhoven (Woor-Dungin/Willum Warrain) titled Right Way, Wrong Way, Which Way?

The focus of discussion was on influencing philanthropy regarding Aboriginal Australia and influencing the broader agenda and the feedback received has been very positive.

We hope that there will be future webinars so please watch this space for notifications of any further sessions.

Latest News

An Important Message

The Fellowship is acutely aware that the Indigenous leadership landscape has changed considerably and presents many exciting opportunities that require a renewed sense of focus.

A Retreat was held on 3 and 4 March where the Alumni and Indigenous Selection Panel Members from over the years discussed leadership, the future of the Fellowship, its purpose and how it can best contribute to, and support, leadership across Victoria’s Aboriginal communities.

The Advisory Committee are currently engaging with the Fellowship’s Alumni to explore new ideas that have the capacity to support the needs of the Alumni including future Fellows and Emerging Leaders.

Watch this space for updates in the near future.

In the meantime, please take the time to go to the Gallery Section of our website to view photos of the Retreat from both Friday and Saturday sessions.

Podcast: Development & Indigenous Equality with Ian Anderson

“Indigenous health is not a local issue, it’s a global issue.” We need to pay attention to the needs of indigenous people as part of our development agenda. At Global Ideas Forum 2016, Professor Ian Anderson talked Sustainable Development Goals, poverty, nutrition, health, education and inequality within indigenous and tribal populations.

To listen to this podcast go to Files and Videos in the Library section of our website.